header-hr-up

Doctoral Candidates

Starting in October 2014, 12-14 new doctoral candidates joined the HR-UP program every year. For a study period of three years, half of these are resident at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem as their home institution, and the other half at Freie Universität Berlin. The students benefit from inter-institutional co-supervision, joint classes, colloquia and conferences, as well as mobility research periods at the partner institution.

First Cohort

Aburabia

Rawia Aburabia, LL.M

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Personal Status Laws of Palestinian Bedouin Women in Israel: Colonized by the Law

Email rawia.aburabia@gmail.com


Barak

Nir Barak

PhD Candidate

Field of research: The Human Right to the City and Sustainable Urbanism

Email nir.barak@mail.huji.ac.il


andrew3

Andrew Mark Bennett

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Judicial Protection of Human Rights in Emergencies

Email ambennett@zedat.fu-berlin.de


Gabriele D'amico

Gabriele D'amico

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Cultural diversity between nature and culture: the eschatology of empathy and UNESCO’s role in it

Email gabrieledami@zedat.fu-berlin.de


hofnung

Tamar Hofnung

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: How do broad, complex, and novel issues of human rights end up receiving very narrow policy treatment

Email tamarhof@gmail.com


Kaiser, pic

Schira Kaiser

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Re-interpreting Human Rights in the Light of Recognition: A New Approach to Crisis, Conflict, and Emergencies

Email S.Kaiser@fu-berlin.de


Keller

Lukas Keller

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: State of Exception and Human Rights in World War I. A Case Study of Germany

Email lukas.keller@fu-berlin.de


mishaplagis

Misha Plagis, LL.M.

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Access to justice, judicial infrastructure, South-South comparative law

Email misha.plagis@hr-up.net


saba

Lina Saba-Habesch

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Criminal Detentions of Security Suspects

Email lina@idi.org.il


teschlade

Julia Teschlade

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Human Rights and Queer Kinship

Email julia.teschlade@fu-berlin.de


Marie-Walter_Portrait

Marie Walter-Franke

PhD Candidate

EU migration and asylum policy

Email mwalter@zedat.fu-berlin.de


yemuda

Limor Yehuda, LL.M

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The Principle of Collective Equality in Ethno-National Conflict Resolution

Email limor.yehuda7@gmail.com


Second Cohort

Moran Avital

Moran Avital

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The Pressures currently Faced by Israeli Human Rights Organizations (HROs)

Email moran.avital@gmail.com


Shani Bar-Tuvia

Shani Bar-Tuvia

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Legitimacy, Identity and Policy Diffusion: The Diffusion of Restrictive Refugee Policies among Western States

Email shani.bartuvia@mail.huji.ac.il


Delius, Anna

Anna Delius

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Field of Research: Human Rights and Political Transitions in Spain and Poland (1975-1993).

Email anna.delius@fu-berlin.de


Rona Dinur

Rona Dinur

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Philosophical Foundations of Discrimination

Email rdinur@gmail.com


Farha

Joseph Farha

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Development of Security Technologies and Related Policies

Email joseph.farha@hr-up.net


Gesase

Arnold Gesase

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Reparations Principles established by the International Criminal Court and the Inter American Court of Human Rights: Their Relevancy and Applicability to African Transitions.

Email arnold_lw@yahoo.co.uk


photo kampourakis

Ioannis Kampourakis

PhD Candidate

Field of research: Dialectics of transparency in the information age: whistleblowing and the right to know

Email johnkampio@hotmail.com


Hila Levi

Hila Levi

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: the Role and Responsibility of International Financial Institutions Concerning Human Rights

Email hila.levi@gmail.com


Magdalena Pacholska

Magda Pacholska

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: the International Complicity Regime

Email magdalenapacholska@yahoo.com


20160528-202109_5280003_HR-UP

Hà Lê Phan

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The Human Right to Sanitation

Email hale.phan@hr-up.net


Schmidinger

Frederik Schmidinger

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Impact of Human Rights Discourses on Rule-Making and Rule-Finding on the International Level

Email frederikschmidinger@hotmail.com


Bruck Teshome

Bruck Teshome

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The Implementation of the Human Right to Development and the Process of Development in a Developmental State

Email bruckefe@gmail.com


Third Cohort

20160813_163033_HDR (2)

Lior Birger

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The issues of immigration and integration while focusing upon asylum-seeking families

Email liorbirger@gmail.com


Bodson

Thibaud Bodson

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Overcoming the dichotomy between international trade law and human rights law : the provision of social clauses in trade agreements

Email thibaud.bodson@gmail.com


Cotler

Michal Cotler-Wunsh

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: In Defense of Free Speech: Creating or Re-affirming the Distinction between Human Rights and Civil Liberties – A Comparative Study

Email michalcotler@gmail.com


Michael Giesen

Michael Giesen

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Intra-Organisational Logics of Regional Organisations and their Interactive Effects on Human Rights Policies

Email mgiesen@zedat.fu-berlin.de


Hadad

Ofir Hadad

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Policies Toward Threatened Palestinians

Email hadad.ofir@gmail.com


Kaddar_Merav

Merav Kaddar

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The possibility and necessity of human agency in the urban sphere, focusing on artists and artistic interventions, arguing for the need and influence of aware and active city dwellers

Email meravkaddar@gmail.com


DSC_2202 copy

Inga Kravchik

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The Implementation of Justice by the International Criminal Court in Cases of Wartime Sexual and Gender-Based Crimes

Email ingakravchik@yahoo.de


Habtom_Ghebrezghiabher_Portrait

Habtom Mehari

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The ways in which Eritreans in Diaspora are involved in promoting human rights, justice and democratic changes in their home country

Email habtomehari@yahoo.com


Kyriaki Pavlidou

Kyriaki Pavlidou

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Human Rights Within and Beyond the Crisis: Debating Austerity, Constitutional Challenges and the Legitimacy Deficit in Europe

Email kyriaki.pavlidou.11@alumni.ucl.ac.uk


Bana

Bana Shoughry

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Islamic Law, Gender and Human Rights under the "Jewish-Democratic State"

Email bana.shoughry@mail.huji.ac.il


IMG_8654 (1) copy (1)

Krisztian Simon

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: The effects of donor activity on the freedom of the media in post-communist East and Central Europe and Central Asia

Email bsimonkrisztian@gmail.com


Profile Photo (Juliana Streva)

Juliana Streva

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Decolonial Feminisms and Human Rights: Identity, Empowerment and Politics in Latin America

Email strevajuliana@gmail.com


IMG_2334

Oleh Vovk

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: LGBTI people as victims of hate crimes in Germany, Israel and Post-Soviet World.

Email oleh.vovk@hr-up.net


Picture - RZeliger

Rachel Zeliger

PhD Candidate

Field of Research: Restrictions on the inflow of cross-border NGO funding, globalisation and freedom of association

Email rachel.zeliger@mail.huji.ac.il